anton bauer lage rosenberg v5
THE LOCATIONS

Rosenberg

The name is due to wild roses that proliferated here particularly lush. It is believed that this field name originated in the time of the minnesingers (12th - 14th century) and was probably influenced by the circles around the native poet Conrad von Vuozesprunnen (Feuersbrunn). The Riede Rosenberg is considered one of the best vineyards in Feuersbrunn, it is located on one of the highest vineyards on the Wagram, directly below the summit of the Hengstberg (371 m). In the north, there is a forest immediately adjacent to the vineyard, which on the one hand protects against strong winds from the northwest and on the other hand is responsible for a special microclimate: despite the exposed south, a cool wind blows out of the forest, even in hot summers causes greater temperature fluctuations between day and night than in other situations. This intensifies the aroma formation in the berries, the wines are complex and structured. On deep loess with clay content, Grüner Veltliner and Cabernet Sauvignon are planted here.

anton bauer lagen hochplateau

Spiegel

The location Spiegel marks the border to Kamptal and is like the Rosenberg one of the highest points on the Wagram. Protected from the northwest by the ridge of the Hengstbergers, the gently terraced location is oriented to about 350 meters above sea level to the south and has in addition to loam and loess also a high proportion of Danube rubble and weathered Gföhler gneiss in the ground. "Apart from the different soils, Spiegel is not a kettle dish, but rather a long plateau with a cooler, airy microclimate. Grüner Veltliner and Blaufränkisch get very mineral, delicate and elegant. They have a higher acidity and are not least therefore very durable ".
Anton Bauer

anton bauer lagen feuersbrunn v2

Ortsried Feuersbrunn

The Ortsried occupies a special position in Feuersbrunn, as it is located south of the village on the last terrain level from Wagram to Tullnerfeld. The soils also differ significantly from those in the Feuersbrunner "Weinebirge": In addition to loess, clay and primary rock materials in the topsoil, deep Danube rubble dominates, giving the Grüner Veltliner, Syrah and Riesling a particularly mineral note. "Due to the low proportion of humus is the Ortsried one of the most difficult situations on the Wagram, on the other hand bring the schottrig-mineral soils in connection with the fresh westerly winds from the Wachau particularly exciting and durable wines. There is very little water here, the yields are therefore low, the grapes are particularly aromatic and fragrant. Minerality and strong acid characterize our finely structured, spicy Riesling ". Anton Bauer

anton bauer lagen stiegl v2

Gmirk

Middle High German for district, municipality boundary; The Riede Gmirk is located between the cellar lanes of Feuersbrunn and Fels and is a southern location at the foot of the Hengstberg. The profound loess soil forms one of the classic Feuersbrunner Grüner Veltliner vineyards. With finesse and not too high degree of maturity we cultivate here also our Pinot Noir. The vineyards are flatter and by the less intense sunlight also a bit cooler. At the same time, the situation is relatively wind-exposed, which is an advantage especially in Pinot Noir, as the grapes always dry quickly and no decay occurs. "The wines bring more minerality and also noticeably more acidity - thus creating a peppery Grüner Veltliner and our Pinot Noir, in which not pure power, but finesse and spicy aromas are in the foreground".

DOWNLOAD 

The Riedenkarte

Here you can download the Riedenkarte

anton bauer lagen anton v2
DIE LAGEN

Rosenberg

Die Bezeichnung ist auf wilde Rosen zurückzuführen, die hier besonders üppig wucherten. Man nimmt an, dass dieser Flurname in der Zeit der Minnesänger (12. – 14. Jh.) entstanden und vermutlich von den Kreisen um den heimatlichen Dichter Conrad von Vuozesprunnen (Feuersbrunn) geprägt worden ist. Die Riede Rosenberg gilt als eine der besten Rieden in Feuersbrunn, Sie liegt auf einer der höchsten für den Weinbau genutzten Lagen am Wagram, direkt unter dem Gipfel des Hengstbergs (371 m). Im Norden grenzt unmittelbar an die Riede ein Wald, der einerseits einen Schutz gegen starke Winde aus dem Nordwesten darstellt, andererseits auch für ein spezielles Kleinklima verantwortlich ist: Trotz der exponierten Südlage, weht auch in heißen Sommern ein kühler Wind aus dem Wald heraus, der stärkere Temperaturschwankungen zwischen Tag und Nacht hervor ruft als in anderen Lagen. Dadurch intensiviert sich die Aromaausbildung in den Beeren, die Weine werden vielschichtiger und strukturierter. Auf tiefgründigem Löss mit Lehmanteil sind hier Grüner Veltliner und Cabernet Sauvignon ausgepflanzt.

anton bauer lagen hochplateau

Spiegel

Die Lage Spiegel markiert die Grenze zum Kamptal und ist so wie der Rosenberg einer der höchsten Punkte am Wagram. Gegen Nordwesten durch den Höhenrücken des Hengstbergers geschützt, ist die sanft terrassierte Lage auf etwa 350 Meter Seehöhe nach Süden ausgerichtet und weist neben Lehm und Löss auch einen hohen Anteil an Donauschotter und verwittertem Gföhler Gneis im Boden auf. „Abgesehen von den unterschiedlichen Böden ist Spiegel keine Kessellage sondern ein langgezogenes Hochplateau mit einem kühleren, luftigen Kleinklima. Grüner Veltliner und Blaufränkisch geraten hier sehr mineralisch, feingliedrig und elegant. Sie weisen eine höhere Säure auf und sind nicht zuletzt deshalb besonders langlebig“.
Anton Bauer

anton bauer lagen feuersbrunn v2

Ortsried Feuersbrunn

Die Ortsried nimmt in Feuersbrunn eine Sonderstellung ein, da sie sich südlich vom Ort an der letzten Geländestufe vom Wagram zum Tullnerfeld befindet. Auch die Böden unterscheiden sich deutlich von denen im Feuersbrunner„Weingebirge“: Neben Löss, Lehm und Urgesteinsmaterialen im Oberboden dominiert hier tiefgründiger Donauschotter, der Grünem Veltliner, Syrah und Riesling eine besonders mineralische Note verleiht. „Durch den geringen Humusanteil ist die Ortsried eine der schwierigsten Lagen am Wagram, andererseits bringen die schottrig-mineralischen Böden in Verbindung mit den frischen Westwinden aus der Wachau besonders spannende und langlebige Weine. Es gibt hier sehr wenig Wasser, die Erträge sind darum gering, die Trauben dafür besonders aromatisch und duftig. Mineralität und die kräftige Säure prägen unseren fein strukturierten, würzigen Riesling“. Anton Bauer

anton bauer lagen stiegl v2

Gmirk

Mittelhochdeutsch für Gemarkung, Gemeindegrenze; Die Riede Gmirk befindet sich zwischen den Kellergassen von Feuersbrunn und Fels und ist eine Südlage am Fuße des Hengstbergs. Die tiefgründigen Lössböden bilden eine der klassischen Feuersbrunner Grüner Veltliner-Lagen. Mit Finesse und nicht zu hohen Reifegrad kultivieren wir hier auch unseren Pinot Noir. Die Weingärten sind flacher und durch die weniger starke Sonneneinstrahlung auch etwas kühler. Gleichzeitig ist die Lage relativ windausgesetzt, was gerade beim Pinot Noir ein Vorteil ist, da die Trauben immer schnell abtrocknen und keine Fäulnis entsteht. „Die Weine bringen mehr Mineralität und auch spürbar mehr Säure – so entstehen ein pfeffriger Grüner Veltliner und unser Pinot Noir, bei dem nicht die pure Kraft, sondern Finesse und würzige Aromatik im Vordergrund stehen“.